Some poems

One day at the beach this summer, I had an itch to write poems. So I wrote eight. The only problem is, I don’t know how to write poems. What makes a poem “good?” Here’s two of them.

Sea

There’s more below the surface than you let on

Deep crying out to deep

Gathering up, pushing through, pulling back

Rhythm, chaos; constant, shifting

Toad fish

Toad-like with your legs

Fish-like with your fins

You are polluting our space with your death

If I were fishing I would likely catch you

And be disappointed

3 responses to “Some poems

  1. Lady Poetess,

    I love your poems; thank you so much for sharing with us!
    I think poetry is like prayer; it doesn’t have to be good; it just IS — raw and real.

    “Poetry is thoughts that breathe, and words that burn.” ~Thomas Gray

    “Poetry begins in delight and ends in wisdom.” – Robert Frost

    “I grew up in this town, my poetry was born between the hill and the river, it took its voice from the rain and like the timber, it steeped itself in the forests.” – Pablo Neruda

    “Poetry is not a subdivision of literature printed in columns instead of across the page and intended mainly for girls and teachers. It is not fantasy and make-believe, but a special way of knowing, as it has been since the Hebrews and Greeks. We cannot know an apple by reading a definition of it. We must see it, taste it, and digest it. So it must be with a poem, which translates experience into insight.” – Helen Lee

  2. Thanks so much for your encouragement and your quotes, Chili. Love that Neruda one. Also I like the idea of translating experience into insight…kinda seems like something I try to do a lot.

Leave a Reply

