Sleeping our way to the top

Over the past four years, sleep has been a “designated issue” for me. I’ve tried everything, but nothing but drugs seems to guarantee sleep. I am encouraged by much progress and forward movement, but it continues to be a struggle. One thing I learned from my dear friend and new mom, Maury, is that “sleep begets sleep.” It’s true for her little one Charlie, and it’s true for me. The more sleep I have, the more good sleep I get. My body knows what to do. It’s getting started that’s the hardest part. Although it’s quite obvious that sleep does a body good, it’s easy to forget. When I wake up in the middle of the night and get 5 random things done I would’t have otherwise, I start to believe that if I slept less I might get caught up, I might actually have it together, I might achieve and produce more. This is a LIE, but it’s a powerful lie.

Check out this TEDTALK about sleep. Don’t worry, it’s only a few minutes long. Arianna Huffington shares the power of a good night’s sleep. She claims it is the best tool you have for success in life.

 

So in 2011, I don’t want to sacrifice sleep. Who’s with me?

2 responses to “Sleeping our way to the top

  1. PREACH on, PREACHER, and SLEEP on, SLEEPER!

    I’m with ya, sister!

    “And if tonight my soul may find her peace
    in sleep, and sink in good oblivion,
    and in the morning wake like a new-opened flower
    then I have been dipped again in God, and new-created.”
    ~D.H. Lawrence

Leave a Reply

