True Things

This song played during a great podcast I listened to yesterday (more to come on that).

It’s nothing crazy deep, but I’ve been thinking a lot about identity recently–especially since I teach junior high students who are smack dab in the middle of the quagmire we call “identity formation.”

But also me–who I am and who I am becoming-or-who am I and who am I becoming?

I’m not the things that I lack…

If you have ideas about how to take these simple statements and make them true in our hearts, please leave a detailed comment below.

“TRUE THINGS” – JJ Heller

I’m not the clothes I’m wearing
I’m not a photograph
I’m not the car I drive

I’m not the money I make
I’m not the things I lack
I’m not the songs that I write

I am … who I am
I am who I am

There are true things inside of me
I have been afraid to see
I believe, help my unbelief
Would you say again what you said to me
I am loved and I am free
I believe, help my unbelief

I’m not the house I live in
I’m not the man I love
I’m not the mistakes that I carry

I’m not the food that I don’t eat
I’m not what I’m above
I’m not my scars and my history

There are true things inside of me
I have been afraid to see
I believe, help my unbelief
Would you say again what you said to me
I am loved and I am free
I believe, help my unbelief

To your love I’m waking up
In your love I’m waking up

Here’s Moxie’s additional verse:

I’m not the color of my skin

I’m not my salary

I’m not my marital status

I’m not my degree

2 responses to “True Things

Leave a Reply

