{Poetry in Motion}

After being in a sorority for four years, I swore off large groups comprised entirely of women. These days, I make one exception…The Indigo Girls.

Reader Chili T and I embarked on a journey last Friday night. A journey to the old Roxy, the new Buckhead Theater to see the Indigo Girls, who in many ways, have inspired our existence. (Now, keep in mind, Chili T and I aren’t “together,” we were just together, so take “inspired our existence” with a grain of straight salt) It was an evening of pure purity. I come away from each Indigo Girls concert thinking the same things.“Why can’t I be this passionate about other things in life?” and “This is one of the best moments of my life” also “I LOVE THEM SO MUCH!”

Many people ask me, “why do you like the Indigo Girls so much?”

Is it Amy?

Is it Emily?

Is it the indescribable feeling you get when they play/harmonize/write/jam together?

Or is it the way you go to the concert dreaming about what they might play, and they deliver over and over again?

My answer: YES.

Check out this rockin’ set list. (You might look at “Chickenman” and wonder, who is Adrian? Oh, he’s a sophomore at W whose dad manages the band. nbd.)

And here’s my personal record of the set list. Looks like I missed a few.

side bar: I used to keep these on a piece of paper in my pocket, but yet again, another reason why the iPhone is amazing–it’s great for lists, and boy (girl?) do I love lists.

Fill it up again
Heartache for everyone
It’s alright
Sugar tongue
Love of our lives
Yield
Power of two
Three hits
Get out the map

Land of Canaan
The one that got away (Fleet of Hope)
Second time around
Match–Emily
Devotion
Watershed
Let it ring–Amy
Wood song
Shadowboxers
Shame on you
Galileo
Chicken man into Bitterroot River back to Chickenman

(with Adrian Carter)

Closer to Fine

(with Shadowboxers and Evan McHugh)

There is so much more to say, but I’ll leave you with this image from the concert. As always, the Girls say it best.

(Shout out to Lesley, who is wondering why it’s taken me so long to do an entire post on the Indigo Girls.)

8 responses to “{Poetry in Motion}

    • BGF,
      Speaking of history buffs…
      To me this song is typical Amy on social justice: environment, war, genocide. She’s asking us why things won’t change.
      I LOVE this verse:
      “Drinking tea with milk and Janjaweed
      Pontificate on genocide or greed
      With a spoonful of DISSENT
      For the orchestra of need
      Is just enough to please this colony”

      Especially the last line–is she calling us a colony? Deep. What are your thoughts?

  1. Boy (girl), do those ladies give their everything with each show. It’s always special for the “hometown” crowd, too…so pure, so PURE!

    HMMM, wish we were going back again tonight to that “Land of Canaan”…if so, I’d “get out the map”!

    Loved being there with you, Mox!

  2. I think the #1 reason I love the Girls is their ease of poetry. They say it all so well! When I hear a lyric, I’m like, “YES! I’ve felt that before, but I never knew how to say it!” Oh, but then they put it to music that I can attempt to harmonize with? Gah ding. Brilliance.

  3. That’s better. I should never have doubted your commitment to the girls, Mox. Once moved, forever moved. I agree with Matthryn, sometimes their music is “like I just got a letter to my soul,” especially when it’s live. I’ll have to make the trek to Atlanta next time!

Leave a Reply

