I heart books

"One sure window into a person's soul is her reading list." -Mary B. W. Tabor

The world is dying to know: what does Moxie read?

I don’t just love reading, I literally love books. As I write, I am sitting at a desk with 22 books in 5 separate piles.My mom tells me that when I was little I used to sleep with books in my crib. Now I sleep with two massive bookshelves in my room, one more in the living room, and three in my classroom. (I’ve slept in all three places at some point)

Finishing grad school means I can read for pleasure again for the first time without guilt. Of course, I already have a list working…and I’ve been sneaking in some pleasure reading here and there.

(being finished with grad school ALSO means you don’t have to put books in Chicago Style bibliographies, although it’s making me a little nervous that these are not…)

A Soft Place to Land Susan White. (reading with a book club this summer!)

The Emotionally Healthy Church Peter Scazzero

All the Kings Men Robert Penn Warren (how have I never read this?)

Countering the Claims of Evangelical Feminism Wayne Grudem

Black Culture and Black Consciousness Lawrence W. Levine

White Flight: Atlanta and the Making of Modern Conservatism Kevin M. Kruse

What should I add, readers?

11 responses to “I heart books

  1. The world IS dying to know, Mox!

    I dig the first title on that list, book clubber, and please tell me that you are going to add “The Help” to that esteemed line-up. Another one I recently purchased that I’m eager to devour (one in the midst of many a pile as well) is Man’s Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl.

    I also want to know, not what you did last summer, but rather what you thought of “A Praying Life” by Paul Miller.

    Read on, soon-to-be Grad School Master…

    • yes! The Help. Totally forgot about that. It’s on there, although I don’t have a physical copy right now like I do the others.

      LOVED LOVED LOVED A Praying Life. Life changer.

  2. Ahh, the end of an era. Goodbye grad school…hello reading for pleasure and fun. Goodbye guiding questions and reading responses…hello book clubs and discussing good literature over wine on back porches! Congrats on being almost done – it’s a great feeling – but for me, a feeling that comes with mixed emotions.

    There’s an article that I can’t find on the interwebs that talks about Susan White and Kathryn Stockett…I read it today on a friend’s phone (random, yes), and now it’s nowhere to be found. I’m not optimizing my Google search skills. Clearly. (When I find it, I’ll post it.)

    I’d add -Half Broke Horses- to the list. It’s a powerful story. Another devotional type is -An Altar in the World- by Barbara Brown Taylor. Two goodies that I’ve actually had a chance to read from start to finish this year!

  3. What are the details of said “book club” and can I join? 🙂 Hmmm, if you’re looking for a beach read, I really enjoyed “South of Broad” by Pat Conroy.

  4. Atonement. my favorite book…. by Ian McEwan. The detail in the writing is gorgeous and the story is tragic yet beautiful. Please read this because i want to talk about it with you.

  5. If East of Eden has not yet made a list in the past, Mox, that’s one of my all-time faves. John Steinbeck is magical. And so is sleep. Hope you counted some serious fluffy sheep last eve…I can’t believe that didn’t make the list of helpful hints!

  6. Loving your moxie, sorry my comments about your hair made u lose sleep!! How about Pilgrim’s Progress to your list, I have a few copies…also, I have man’s search for meaning, victor frankel in paperback. I think it is on john’s list.

  7. Pingback: Books are Gluten-Free! | Gluten Freedom Atlanta

Leave a Reply

