Kathy’s Song

This song reminds me of soft summer nights singing along to my brother strumming the guitar…I love the terse tenderness of this ballad. Especially the last line.How brilliant is Paul Simon? I could never tire of his lyrics because they speak new meanings to me each time I hear them.


KATHY’S SONG

(Paul Simon)

I hear the drizzle of the rain

Like a memory it falls

Soft and warm continuing

Tapping on my roof and walls


And from the shelter of my mind

Through the window of my eyes

I gaze beyond the rain-drenched streets

To England where my heart lies


My mind’s distracted and diffused

My thoughts are many miles away

They lie with you when you’re asleep

And kiss you when you start your day


And a song I was writing is left undone

I don’t know why I spend my time

Writing songs I can’t believe

With words that tear and strain to rhyme


And so you see I have come to doubt

All that I once held as true

I stand alone without beliefs

The only truth I know is you


And as I watch the drops of rain

Weave their weary paths and die

I know that I am like the rain

There but for the grace of you go I

 

2 responses to “Kathy’s Song

  1. Moxie…
    hmmmm…
    such a sweet, sultry tune. Have you ever heard Eva Cassidy’s version?! PURE SWEETNESS.

    groove on, sistah…

Leave a Reply

