Old News by Now

Tiger publicly apologizes. Do we forgive him?

I like these lines

“It’s not what we achieve in life, it’s what we overcome.”

“It’s hard to admit that I need help, but I do.”

“Please leave my wife and kids alone…I am the one who needs to change.”

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/02/19/AR2010021902442.html

2 responses to “Old News by Now

  1. I watched the whole speech. I will forgive him and I hope he works it out with elin, but already have lost all respect for him as a person. Still have huge respect for him as an athlete…. but he’s a disgusting person. Like he said in his speech, it will take a long time for us to believe him and we’ll know by his actions, not words. The speech was too long.

  2. I didn’t watch the apology. And I don’t really care because I don’t think he owes me an apology. I just finished reading “Why I Stayed” by Gayle Haggard, wife of Pastor Ted Haggard who had an affair with a man and used drugs. He is repentant, really broken, and she forgives him. Many in the church do not forgive him though. Understandably they are angry, disappointed, embarrassed, and deeply wounded by his sin, but Gayle points out in the book that she’s the victim. Not the general public. He betrayed her trust and her bed. That really stuck with me.

    And I think Tiger was darned if he did and darned if he didn’t. No Apology=Not Repentant. Public Apology=Publicity Stunt

Leave a Reply

