Dinner tonight

I’ve been known to eat hummus for dinner.  Eating lots of hummus gets expensive. So, reader Em Em shared her famous recipe with me so I could make some at home.

I highly recommend it.

TASTY HUMMUS

In a food processor, add all the ingredients. Puree till smooth

2 15 oz cans of garbanzo beans (chick peas)
1/3 cup of liquid from the cans (I usually save this til the end and add a
little if necessary)
3 T toasted tahini
1/3 cup olive oil
3 T fresh lemon juice
2 t chopped fresh garlic
1 1/2 teaspoons cumin
1/8 t cayenne pepper
3/4 t sea salt (I added a bit more…)
4 T chopped parsley (for me, this is nice but optional)


Here’s how I eat it. Take one corn chip, dip it in some mango peach salsa, then dip in the hummus. Enjoy. Repeat.

7 responses to “Dinner tonight

  1. I like how you roll, moxie. I am a huge fan of hummus for dinner. Hummus on veggies, hummus on crackers, hummus, spinach, & cheese toasted on a pita. Or my personal favorite…just plain hummus toast. (Toast bread lightly. Spread hummus. Toast bread some more. Eat. Mmm.) I am super excited to try this recipe to satisfy my hopeless addiction.

    • Funny! I made hummus for the first time on Sunday night. So good. I agree about it being too expensive in the store. Very similar recipes. I really like the cumin/garlic/lemon juice combo. We’ll be eating it all week.

Leave a Reply

