Get Hooked on THE WIRE

While I’m supposed to be writing my exams, I’ve actually been watching a lot of youtube. It’s great to catch up.

If you don’t watch The Wire, you might think it’s only for…

a) people from Baltimore

b) boys

c) people who like crime/law shows

d) TV snobs

I actually only fill one of those categories, and the show has been my obsession for quite some time now. After watching all 5 seasons 1.5 years ago, I recently started over. It’s even better the second time.

I love the way it deconstructs the mythical pursuit of right and wrong, the incredible character development, it’s overt and subtle critique of all institutions, and the great one-liners.

If you’ve got 10 minutes to spare today, check out the100 Greatest Quotes if you are wondering if the show is for you.  (it’s not for the feint of spirit–lots of bad language)

I think you’ll be hooked. Let me know if you want to borrow Season 1.


5 responses to “Get Hooked on THE WIRE

  1. I’m a believer!!!
    (recent convert, actually, but let’s be honest, it only takes one episode)
    the snow is a nice touch by the way!

Leave a Reply

