A Decade of Music

PASTE magazine recently released lists of the “best” (music, books, film, games) of the decade. As the decade rapidly comes to a close, I thought I would list my own…some are the same, but many are different.

Here’s my criteria:

1.  It had to be an album that I enjoyed in the truest form–not just one or two great songs.

2. It had to have been stuck in my “CD changer” for an extended period of time

3. I often go back to it, and I never get sick of it.

4. Something that I PERSONALLY really enjoy, not just something that I think I am supposed to like.

MOXIE’S BEST ALBUMS OF 2000-2010 (in no particular order…)

10. Ryan Adams: Heartbreaker (2000)

9. Bon Iver: For Emma, Forever Ago (2007)

8. Patty Griffin: Impossible Dream (2004)

7. eastmountainsouth: self-titled (2003)

6. Caroline Herring: Lantana (2008)

5. Andrew Bird: The Mysterious Production of Eggs (2005)

4. Sufjan Stevens: Come on Feel the Illinoise (2005)

3. Indigo Girls: Despite Our Differences (2006)

2. Dave Matthews Band: Lillywhite Sessions (2000)

1. Iron and Wine: Our Endless Numbered Days (2004)

ALSO RAN

Wilco: Sky Blue Sky

David Gray: White Ladder

Justin Timberlake: FutureSexLove Sounds

Radiohead: In Rainbows

8 responses to “A Decade of Music

  1. Hey Jen, It was good to visit with you today too! I am excited to follow your blog! I like how you apply your knowledge of history and politics and ask the hard questions. You have great insight into life. Great quotes!

  2. great idea for a post! I’ll have to check out your top ten and also think about what mine might be. Miseducation of Lauryn Hill definitely in there, also some IG: 12,000 Curfews.

  3. I would not change your list by one artist.

    But I would add/suggest:
    Regina Spektor – Begin to Hope/Far
    The Arcade Fire – Funeral
    The Avett Bros – I and Love and You OR Emotionalism
    The Weepies – Say I Am You
    Sigur Ros – Takk

  4. Great list. I could listen to the Lily White Sessions right about now. Not only is it good music but it brings back great memories. In fact they all do. Isn’t that what music does best?

  5. Pingback: {Poetry in Motion} « Moxie

Leave a Reply

